Awards / Cybersecurity / Digital access / Startups

Northern Virginia Technology Council announces Capital Cyber Awards finalists

Companies and cyber executives in six categories will be awarded at the inaugural event on Oct. 1, in Tysons, Virginia.

Cybersecurity. (Photo by Flickr user Yuri Samoilov, used under a Creative Commons license)

The Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC) has announced the finalists for its inaugural Capital Cyber Awards.

The award ceremony, set for Oct. 1 at The Ritz-Carlton in Tysons, Virginia, will be part of NVTC’s fourth annual Capital Cybersecurity Summit, a half day-long event featuring speakers and panels focusing on cybersecurity technologies, government perspectives on cyber and more. The awards ceremony will celebrate the top cybersecurity companies and executives in the region.


Winners will be announced during lunch time at the summit.

Here are the finalists in each category:

Cyber Company Under $25 Million [in revenue]

Cyber Company Over $25 Million

  • GuidePoint Security
  • IronNet Cybersecurity
  • Sonatype
  • Tenable

Cyber CEO of the Year

  • John Ackerly of Virtru
  • John Czupak of ThreatQuotient
  • Wayne Jackson of Sonatype
  • Julian Setian of SOS International
  • Promod Sharma of Criterion Systems
  • Amit Yoran of Tenable

CISO of the Year

  • Michael Baker of General Dynamics Information Technology
  • Nicole Dean of Accenture Federal Services
  • Chris Porter of Fannie Mae

Cyber Deal of the Year

  • Endgame
  • FireEye
  • Merlin International
  • Tenable

Before you go...

Please consider supporting to keep our independent journalism strong. Unlike most business-focused media outlets, we don’t have a paywall. Instead, we count on your personal and organizational support.

3 ways to support our work:
  • Contribute to the Journalism Fund. Charitable giving ensures our information remains free and accessible for residents to discover workforce programs and entrepreneurship pathways. This includes philanthropic grants and individual tax-deductible donations from readers like you.
  • Use our Preferred Partners. Our directory of vetted providers offers high-quality recommendations for services our readers need, and each referral supports our journalism.
  • Use our services. If you need entrepreneurs and tech leaders to buy your services, are seeking technologists to hire or want more professionals to know about your ecosystem, has the biggest and most engaged audience in the mid-Atlantic. We help companies tell their stories and answer big questions to meet and serve our community.
The journalism fund Preferred partners Our services

Join the conversation!

Find news, events, jobs and people who share your interests on's open community Slack


DMV coworking guide: 20 places to work, with company

DC Power Moves: The US Navy has a new innovation director

5 local orgs with services and resources for startups and entrepreneurs

How 3 local orgs help founders and entrepreneurs build their networks

Technically Media