Diversity & Inclusion
Competitions / Health

AARP wants to hear all about your ‘ageless’ innovations

The winner of a new competition will walk away with $10,000.

AARP HQ. (Photo by Flickr user Forsaken Fotos, used under a Creative Commons license)

The Chinatown-based AARP unveiled its “2017 AARP Innovation Champion Awards” on Wednesday. The competition seeks to highlight key innovations in caregiving — especially those that are “ageless.”

What’s “ageless innovation”?

Terry Bradwell, AARP’s chief enterprise strategy and innovation officer, explains it like this in a press release: “Too often we see innovation around products, services and even city infrastructure that focuses only on seniors or only on another age group. This is short sighted and inefficient. Instead we need to spark investment in what we call Ageless Innovation – innovations that are universally designed for all people – of any age.”

In pursuit of such solutions, AARP is accepting nominations (starting Wednesday, Feb. 15) for companies and individuals building tech in the areas of:

  1. daily essential activities
  2. caregiver quality of life
  3. health and safety awareness
  4. care coordination
  5. social well-being
  6. transition support

Nominate yourself or nominate a friend — just do it before April 15.

Nominate an innovation

After the submission period ends, a panel of judges will evaluate each of the nominees before deciding on a final top five in each of the six categories above. The public will then vote to determine a winner in each category as well as one overall grand prize winner. This grand prize winner will walk away with $10,000 in cash, but there are plenty of fun prizes for the other finalists as well (like product development consulting from AARP).

Before you go...

Please consider supporting Technical.ly to keep our independent journalism strong. Unlike most business-focused media outlets, we don’t have a paywall. Instead, we count on your personal and organizational support.

Our services Preferred partners The journalism fund

Join our growing Slack community

Join 5,000 tech professionals and entrepreneurs in our community Slack today!


Top 3 vital trends founders should know before pitching investors in 2024

Leaders at Baltimore Region Investment Summit praise collaboration and push for equitable growth — EDA funding or not

DC lands $1.7B in Q2 venture capital, double the previous quarter’s raise

5 assistive tech platforms to propel the future of work for people with disabilities

Technically Media