15 local contributors to national technology news sites - Technical.ly Philly

Media

Sep. 11, 2012 9:30 am

15 local contributors to national technology news sites

Here is a long-overdue list of national tech (and culture) writers who call Philadelphia home.
At last month’s BarCamp News Hackathon. With its short timeline, the winning 311 widget could be thought of as a hackathon project.

At last month's BarCamp News Hackathon. With its short timeline, the winning 311 widget could be thought of as a hackathon project.

The crush of nationally-minded technology and culture news sites may not often be associated with Philadelphia, but for years we’ve felt there was a strange pull of those brands employing local writers.

If for no other reason than to acknowledge it, here is a long-overdue list of national tech (and culture) writers who call Philadelphia home. Who are we missing?


Updated: here’s a Twitter list to follow of these cats (h/t @DraintheLibrary):

  1. Timothy Lee: Ars Technica | @binarybits
  2. Chris Grant: Polygon, Former Joystiq | @chrisgrant  (lives in Fishtown)
  3. Jon Gruber: Daring Fireball | @gruber
  4. Duncan Bowen Black, aka “Atrios:” Eschaton | @atrios
  5. Chris Velazco: Tech Crunch | @chrisvelazco (lives in South Jersey)
  6. Andrew Nusca: CBS Interactive | @editorialiste (lives in West Philly)
  7. Danya Henninger: Zagat.com, theDrinkNation.com | @phillydesign
  8. Gene Marks: ‘You’re the Boss‘ blog on NYTimes.com | @genemarks
  9. Jason Fagone: Wired contributor | @jfagone
  10. John Paul Titlow: Read Write Web | @johnpaul (lives in Kensington)
  11. Joel Mathis: Macworld | @joelmmathis
  12. Scott McNulty: WordPress author | @blankbaby
  13. Michael Oryl: MobileBurn.com | @MichaelOryl
  14. Leonid Kravets: TechCrunch contributor | @lkravets
  15. Kevin Tofel: GigaOm | @kevinctofel  [H/T Mike Harris]
  16. Erica Ogg: GigaOm | @ericaogg [H/T Mike Harris]
  17. Sean Portnoy: ZDnet | @teklust
  18. [Formerly, before this spring] Tim Carmody: The Verge, former Wired | @tcarmody

Advertisement

-30-
BECOME A CONTRIBUTOR TO THE JOURNALISM FUND TO COMMENT
Already a contributor? Sign in here
Connect with companies from the Technical.ly community
New call-to-action

Advertisement

Nominate an outstanding dev for the inaugural Philly RealLIST Engineers

Why this dev planted roots at The Philadelphia Inquirer after starting her career abroad

A Philly fintech company is #5 on this year’s Inc. 5000 list

SPONSORED

Philly

7 biz resources we learned about at Super Meetup Philly 2019

Philadelphia, PA

PromptWorks

Senior Software Engineer

Apply Now

Chesterrbrook, PA

Deacom

Software Quality Analyst

Apply Now

Philadelphia

Inspire

Manager, People Operations

Apply Now

Philly Mag: These 5 technologists are changing the face of power

Checking in on the realLIST startups of 2018

This library fanatic is touring all 54 Free Library of Philadelphia branches

SPONSORED

Philly

Paid family leave adds to the perks at Chariot Solutions

Philadelphia, PA - Center City

Odessa

Sr. Project Manager

Apply Now

Philadelphia

Vistar Media

Sr. Software Engineer

Apply Now

Philadelphia

Vistar Media

Front End Engineer

Apply Now

Sign-up for daily news updates from Technical.ly Philadelphia

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!