15 local contributors to national technology news sites - Technical.ly Philly

Media

Sep. 11, 2012 9:30 am

15 local contributors to national technology news sites

Here is a long-overdue list of national tech (and culture) writers who call Philadelphia home.

At last month's BarCamp News Hackathon. With its short timeline, the winning 311 widget could be thought of as a hackathon project.

The crush of nationally-minded technology and culture news sites may not often be associated with Philadelphia, but for years we’ve felt there was a strange pull of those brands employing local writers.

If for no other reason than to acknowledge it, here is a long-overdue list of national tech (and culture) writers who call Philadelphia home. Who are we missing?


Updated: here’s a Twitter list to follow of these cats (h/t @DraintheLibrary):

  1. Timothy Lee: Ars Technica | @binarybits
  2. Chris Grant: Polygon, Former Joystiq | @chrisgrant  (lives in Fishtown)
  3. Jon Gruber: Daring Fireball | @gruber
  4. Duncan Bowen Black, aka “Atrios:” Eschaton | @atrios
  5. Chris Velazco: Tech Crunch | @chrisvelazco (lives in South Jersey)
  6. Andrew Nusca: CBS Interactive | @editorialiste (lives in West Philly)
  7. Danya Henninger: Zagat.com, theDrinkNation.com | @phillydesign
  8. Gene Marks: ‘You’re the Boss‘ blog on NYTimes.com | @genemarks
  9. Jason Fagone: Wired contributor | @jfagone
  10. John Paul Titlow: Read Write Web | @johnpaul (lives in Kensington)
  11. Joel Mathis: Macworld | @joelmmathis
  12. Scott McNulty: WordPress author | @blankbaby
  13. Michael Oryl: MobileBurn.com | @MichaelOryl
  14. Leonid Kravets: TechCrunch contributor | @lkravets
  15. Kevin Tofel: GigaOm | @kevinctofel  [H/T Mike Harris]
  16. Erica Ogg: GigaOm | @ericaogg [H/T Mike Harris]
  17. Sean Portnoy: ZDnet | @teklust
  18. [Formerly, before this spring] Tim Carmody: The Verge, former Wired | @tcarmody

Advertisement

-30-
JOIN THE COMMUNITY, BECOME A MEMBER
Already a member? Sign in here

Advertisement

Philly Mag: These 5 technologists are changing the face of power

Checking in on the realLIST startups of 2018

This library fanatic is touring all 54 Free Library of Philadelphia branches

SPONSORED

Philly

This apprenticeship program is opening the door for candidates with nontraditional backgrounds

Center City

Inspire

Product Manager – Sales Tools

Apply Now
Center City

Inspire

Member Experience Specialist

Apply Now
Philadelphia, PA

Perpay

Frontend Engineer

Apply Now

At LIFT Labs Demo Day, a glimpse of Philly as a global startup hub

‘Convenient’ Philly lands at No. 8 on Forbes list of top startup cities

What you can learn at this 10th annual ‘future of news’ unconference

SPONSORED

Philly

How AI can help humans, not replace them

Ambler, PA

IntegriChain

Data Engineer

Apply Now
Philadelphia, PA

Linode

Product Marketing Manager

Apply Now
Blue Bell, PA

Pinnacle 21

Senior Software Engineers

Apply Now

Sign-up for daily news updates from Technical.ly Philadelphia

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!