Here's who won this year's Delaware STEM Council awards - Delaware


Nov. 22, 2016 12:36 pm

Here’s who won this year’s Delaware STEM Council awards

Some ? for these hardworking educators.
At the Delaware STEM Council awards during Delaware Innovation Week 2016.

At the Delaware STEM Council awards during Delaware Innovation Week 2016.

(Photo via Twitter user @Delaware_DHSS)

Support for STEM education has been getting a lot of attention in Delaware this year. But in order to understand the big picture, it’s important to look at where it stems from, education. It all starts with education, recognizing the ones that do the educating only seems fair.

The Delaware STEM Council held its annual educator awards and symposium last week where cash prizes were given out to exceptional elementary, middle and high school educators to support classroom initiatives that don’t always fall within budget cycle restrictions. (Find our recap of the equality in STEM panel at the symposium here.) We’ve all heard the stories about teachers spending their own money on school supplies for students. The best thing about these cash prizes? They’re unrestricted.

Here’s who came out on top in the ranks. This year’s winners had a state-wide representation from New Castle, Kent and Sussex counties.


Elementary school

First place went to Richard Messick and Nicole Morley from Georgetown Elementary.
Second place went to Cindy Isaacs and Dawn Keenan from IRSD Gifted and Talented ExCEL program.
Third place went to Mark Morey from H.O. Brittingham Elementary School.

Middle school

First place went to Justine Wood and Jill Szymanski from Brandywine Springs School.
Second place went to Daniel Farren, Don Whitaker and Brian Whitehead from MOT Charter School.

High school

First place went to a team of six: Jeffrey Kilner, Rob Gibson, Jill Oliva, Britta Bimbi Cordrey, Kelly Deleon and Mike League of Sussex Central High School.
Second place went to Christopher Harris of Caesar Rodney High School.


In addition to the cash awards given out by the Department of Education, there was also bonus prize money awarded for the Junior Achievement challenge that took place earlier in the day during the STEM Symposium to fuel mentoring programs in schools.

Each of the winners, all of whom won STEM Council awards, got $250.

They were: Cynthia Isaacs of IRSD Gifted and Talented ExCEL program, Mark Morey of H.O. Brittingham Elementary School, Brian Whitehead of MOT Charter School and Jeffrey Kilner of Central Sussex High School.

$500 went to each of these winners as well: Richard Messick of Georgetown Elementary, Justine Wood MOT Charter and Christopher Harris of Caesar Rodney High School


Already a contributor? Sign in here
Connect with companies from the community
New call-to-action


Sign-up for daily news updates from Delaware

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!