Civic News
Funding / Municipal government / Urban development

5 Delaware cities to get downtown makeovers

Milford, Georgetown, Laurel, Harrington and Smyrna are the state's latest downtown development districts.

There is a renewed interest in rebuilding downtown areas across the nation, Delaware is no different.
Gov. Jack Markell designated Milford, Georgetown, Laurel, Harrington and Smyrna as downtown development districts, meaning they will get a financial boost along with job-growth initiatives and neighborhood involvement programs.
Smyrna Mayor Joanne Masten told WMDT she hopes historic Wright Mansion in downtown Smyrna will yield benefits from the grant.
“We’re excited about that because that’s one of the few buildings left in the downtown Smyrna area that hasn’t been rehabbed,” Masten told WDMT.
Read the full story


Knowledge is power!

Subscribe for free today and stay up to date with news and tips you need to grow your career and connect with our vibrant tech community.


WeWork approached physical space as if it were virtual — which led to the company’s downfall

Delaware, let's celebrate: You picked these 5 winners for your 2023 Awards just hired an entrepreneur turned public media exec to lead our newsroom

The Innovation Space joins the ARPA-H Investor Catalyst Hub

Technically Media