Meet the 52 execs named to Leadership Maryland's class of 2020 - Baltimore

Professional Development

Feb. 17, 2020 2:21 pm

Meet the 52 execs named to Leadership Maryland’s class of 2020

The professional development program brings together business and community leaders from across Maryland, who will convene to learn about the state's key issues over eight months.
Wavin’ the Maryland flag.

Wavin' the Maryland flag.

(Photo by Flickr user Austin Kirk, used under a Creative Commons license)

The Old Line State has a new group of luminaries: Leadership Maryland, the Annapolis-based nonprofit that runs a professional development program for executives from the public and private sector, announced its class of 2020 this month.

The organization’s 28th class will include 52 business and community leaders from across Maryland. During the eight-month program, they will gather during sessions to learn about the state’s key issues.

“This was our most competitive cohort of applicants in our history, which is a testament to our members encouraging a diverse and broad spectrum of highly-qualified executives from across the state to apply to our program and share their experience,” Renee M. Winsky, president and CEO of Leadership Maryland, said in a statement. “This year’s class is a powerful cross-section of leaders from our state.”

The class, for which professionals much be nominated or apply to join, will complete an eight-month learning program focused on issues such as economic development, education, health and human services, criminal justice, the environment, and multiculturalism and diversity. Following a two-day opening retreat in April, the class will attend five, two-day sessions across the state focusing on each issue area. Then, there will be a a one-day closing retreat in November and graduation celebration in December. During the year, more than 100 experts in business, government, education and the nonprofit community will serve as panelists and guest speakers.

Here’s the full lineup of Leadership Maryland 2020 participants:

  • Amanda N. Allen, government and community affairs manager, Transurban 
  • Adrianne M. Arthur, director of operations and communications of UM Strategic Partnership at the University of Maryland Baltimore 
  • Nichole Doye Battle, MBA, chief executive officer at GEDCO 
  • Denise L. Beaver, CEcD, deputy director of economic development for Carroll County government
  • Dr. Mary W. Bolt, president of Cecil College 
  • Matthew Bolyard, MBA, division manager at Southway Builders, Inc. 
  • Christopher P. Breedlove, chief of zoning enforcement for Calvert County Government
  • Lauren T. Buckler-Duncan, PE, CEM, assistant secretary for facilities, design, construction and energy at the Maryland Department of General Services 
  • Lucas I. Cade, senior economic development advisor, FirstEnergy 
  • Patricia Carper, division vice president at The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company
  • Jennifer Combs, managing director at Accenture Federal Services 
  • Danielle Lee Conrow deputy director of engineering and highways for Calvert County government
  • David J. Corkum, executive vice president for CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield 
  • Suzanne Luers Crawford, director of administration at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County 
  • Melissa S. Drew project executive, director – Eastern Shore for Gilbane Building Company 
  • Nancy Easterling, executive director for Historic Sotterley, Inc. 
  • Michele S. Eberle, MBA, executive director of the Maryland Health Benefits Exchange 
  • Dr. Chrys Egan, co-director of the office of undergraduate research and creative activity at Salisbury University
  • Enas Y. Elhanafi, M.S.Ed, associate director of community engagement and director of the Global Nexus Program, at the Montgomery College Office of Advancement
  • Kelly Ennis, founder and managing principal of The Verve Partnership
  • Liz Fitzsimmons, managing director for the Division of Tourism, Film and the Arts, at the Maryland Department of Commerce 
  • Paul Frey, IOM, president and CEO of the Washington County Chamber of Commerce 
  • Kendrick T. Gibbs, division director of the National Institutes of Health 
  • Jeremy D. Goldman, county administrator of Caroline County 
  • William Robert Hair, superintendent of Maryland School for the Blind 
  • Heidi Hammel, PMP, GISP, vice president of KCI Technologies, Inc. 
  • John J. Horner Jr., MBA, vice president of operations at Easton Utilities
  • Arthur A. Jones-Dove, vice president and senior division manager of public and private unit of Atkins North America, Inc. 
  • Lisa Kemp, CPA, senior vice president of administration and finance and CFO for University of Maryland Global Campus 
  • Deena Deese Kilmon, director of engagement at Arc Central Chesapeake Region 
  • Irene Katherine Magruder, CEcD, executive director of the Maryland Clean Energy Center 
  • Luiselle P. McBride, Esq., principal at Miles & Stockbridge, PC 
  • Kim I. McCalla, associate vice president of facilities, design and construction at Morgan State University 
  • Chris McDonell, president of McDonell Consulting Group/Sandler Training 
  • Austin L. Miller, chief technology officer of the MTA at the Maryland Department of Transportation 
  • Dr. Robert C. Mock, Jr., chief of staff at University of Maryland-Eastern Shore 
  • Wendi Wagner Peters, special secretary of smart growth at the State of Maryland 
  • Dr. Bradley D. Phillips, director of policy analysis and research at the Maryland Association of Community Colleges 
  • Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard, president at Montgomery College 
  • Mark Potter, president & CEO of the Maryland Science Center 
  • Antonio P. Salazar, Esq., commissioner of financial regulation at the Maryland Department of Labor 
  • Arti Santhanam, Ph.D., executive director of the Maryland Innovation Initiative at the Maryland Technology Development Corp. (TEDCO) 
  • James C. Schmutz, president and CEO of Special Olympics Maryland, Inc. 
  • Susan L. Schnaars, vice president and senior investment advisor of Wilmington Trust 
  • Sharon Markley Schreiber, chief operating officer of the Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore 
  • Sarah J. Shin, Ph.D., associate provost for academic affairs at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County 
  • Dr. James Scott Smith, superintendent of St. Mary’s County Public Schools 
  • Corey E. Stottlemyer, director of strategic customer service at the Maryland Department of Transportation
  • Richard A. Tabuteau, Esq., attorney and lobbyist at Schwartz, Metz & Wise, PA
  • C. Marie Taylor, president and CEO at Leadership Montgomery
  • Reggie Turner, financial advisor and financial planner at Turner Wealth Management/Prudential Advisors 
  • Amy Velich, MBA, assistant director of bond financing at MEDCO 



Already a contributor? Sign in here
Connect with companies from the community
New call-to-action


Sign-up for daily news updates from Baltimore

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!