Here are the nominees for the 2nd annual Baltimore Innovation Awards - Baltimore


Sep. 3, 2014 9:00 am

Here are the nominees for the 2nd annual Baltimore Innovation Awards

Online voting is now open for the Baltimore region’s only people’s choice awards for technology, entrepreneurship and new thinking.
A prototype version of the Baltimore Innovation Awards statuette.

A prototype version of the Baltimore Innovation Awards statuette.

(Photo courtesy of Fab Lab Baltimore)

Full disclosure: Of the more than 50 organizations nominated here, Baltimore has partnered directly in organizing events with 10: Betamore, ETC, University of Maryland BioPark, Under Armour, Baltimore Node, Alchemy Learning, The Foundery, Fab Lab Baltimore, Code in the Schools and Wham City Lights. has received monetary sponsorship from another six: AOL, BackForty, R2Integrated, OrderUp, Tenable and TEDCO.

Who best represents the Baltimore region’s early-stage startup community? What established Baltimore tech business had the best year? What job-creation authority has taken the most innovative approach?

Online voting is now open for the Baltimore region’s only people’s choice awards for technology, entrepreneurship and new thinking: the Baltimore Innovation Awards are back.

Vote now!

The people and organizations represented in the Baltimore Innovation Awards are advancing the region in new and inspiring ways: by growing businesses, increasing regional economic activity, creating new gateways to the technology community and much more.

The categories and nominees are as follows:

  • Technologist of the Year
    • Shea Frederick, Under Armour and
    • Jason Denney, Baltimore Node and Baltimore Hackathon
    • Payal Patnaik, Geomore Meetup organizer and civic hacker
    • Eliot Pearson, Aol
    • Joanne Selinski, Hopkins Computer Science and HopHacks
  • Best Web/Mobile Product of the Year
    • Haystack, street parking marketplace
    • Team Aezon, competing in the Qualcomm Tricorder XPRIZE.
    • ShapeShot 3D Photobooth
    • Heyy “upside down” online dating
  • Tech Community Leader of the Year
    • Mike Brenner, Betamore
    • Paris Pittman, AOL
    • Rob Rosenbaum, TEDCO
    • Deb Tillett, ETC
    • Greg Cangialosi, MissionTix
  • Scientist of the Year
    • Dr. Yoni Zohar, UMBC Marine Biotechnology for Development of Sustainable Aquaculture
    • Dr. Alan Schmaljohn, BioPark for Ebola Vaccine Research
    • Dr. Lisa A. Cooper, Hopkins Center to Eliminate Cardiovascular Disparities
    • Tom Burkett, Baltimore Under Ground Science Space, or BUGGS.
    • Cheryl Carmona, Boone Street Urban Farm Environmental and Soil Scientist
  • Design/Dev Firm of the Year
    • SmartLogic
    • BackForty
    • Post Typography
    • Friends of the Web
    • Mindgrub
  • Digital Marketing Firm of the Year
    • R2Integrated
    • PlanIt
    • The Canton Group
    • Fastspot
    • Groove
  • Tech Mission Group of the Year
    • Digital Harbor Foundation
    • Code in the Schools
    • Venture for America
    • FutureMakers
    • Baltimore Free School
  • Artist/Creative Group of the Year
    • Terry and Belinda Kilby for Elevated Element drones
    • Richard Best for Section1 Urban Art Park
    • Keith Lea for Wham City Lights
    • Ben Walsh for Gamescape
    • Nancy Proctor for Museums and the Web Conference and Baltimore Museum of Art
  • Economic Development Group of the Year
    • TEDCO
    • Howard Tech Council
    • DBED (Maryland Department of Business and Economic Development)
    • EAGB (Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore)
    • GBC (Greater Baltimore Committee)
  • Makerspace of the Year
    • 3D Maryland
    • The Foundery
    • Baltimore Node
    • Fab Lab Baltimore at CCBC
    • Unallocated Space
  • Colocation or Incubator Space of the Year
    • Maryland Center for Entrepreneurship
    • bwtech@UMBC
    • ETC
    • Social Innovation Lab
    • Betamore
  • Best Locally-built Indie Video Game of the Year
    • Deep Dive! by Pure Bang Games
    • Playing Favorites by Brinkbit
    • Dungeonmans by Jim Shepard
    • Camp Keepalive by Twofold
    • SecretElite Force by Andrei Shulgach
  • Tech Business of the Year
    • Aol/
    • Millennial Media
    • OrderUp
    • RedOwl Analytics
    • Tenable Network Security
  • Tech Startup of the Year
    • RenterResume for Landlords to Screen Tenants
    • Quantified Care for Digital Medical Toolkit
    • Eyemaginations with Visual Software for Medical Procedure Preparedness
    • Rehabitics for Gaming-Based Rehabilitation
    • Alchemy Learning Edtech with Online Lessons

You can vote online until Friday, Sept. 12.


Winners will be announced at the Baltimore Innovation Week Closing Party, Innovation Celebration, on Friday, Sept. 19 at Under Armour.

The awards themselves were designed and created by Fab Lab Baltimore.

Check out last year’s winners here.


Already a contributor? Sign in here
Connect with companies from the community
New call-to-action


Sign-up for daily news updates from Baltimore

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!