Join us for Baltimore Innovation Week, Sept. 12 - 20, 2014


Nov. 5, 2013 10:45 am

Judges announced for 2nd annual InvestMaryland Challenge

Emerging Technology Center president Deb Tillett is among the judges for this year's InvestMaryland Challenge.

Emerging Technology Center president Deb Tillett is among the judges for this year’s InvestMaryland Challenge.

Four prizes of $400,000 will be distributed by the state’s Department of Business and Economic Development to startups in a general industry category, as well as the fields of information technology, cybersecurity and life sciences. Each startup winning each one of those categories receives $100,000.

The funding itself is dispersed via the Maryland Venture Fund, a state-funded, early-stage equity fund established within DBED in 1995, as well as the BioMaryland Center, an office also within DBED.

Tillett is joined by Startup Maryland co-chairs Julie Lenzer Kirk and Mike Binko, in addition to TEDCO’s president Rob Rosenbaum, Betamore cofounder Greg Cangialosi, Mike Thielke of the Eastern Shore Entrepreneurship Center, Kirby Fowler of the Downtown Partnership, Kris Valerio Shock of the Chesapeake Regional Tech Council and a couple dozen others across four main categories: IT, life sciences, cybersecurity and general.

See the full list of judges here.

Andrew Zaleski

Andrew Zaleski is a freelance journalist in Philadelphia and the former lead reporter for Baltimore. Before moving to Philadelphia in June 2014, he was a contributing writer to Baltimore City Paper and a Tech Check commentator for WYPR 88.1 FM, Baltimore city’s National Public Radio affiliate. He has written for The Atlantic, Outside, Richmond magazine, Washington City Paper, Baltimore magazine, Baltimore Style magazine, Next City,, The Atlantic Cities, and elsewhere.

Profile   /   @ajzaleski   /   Send an email